An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

The Hidden Health Cause of My Lost Libido

Greetings, SINful Friends!  Today I bring a public health and safety awareness message.  If you’re looking for a sexy post or detailed recounting of sexual, move along.  Or read to the end and see if I work something in.  You never know.

Over the past 6 months to a year, Mrs. AP has noticed a continual waning of my sexual appetite.  While many psychologist, and even more married couples, will attest to the fact that interest levels wax and wane throughout a relationship and that sometimes two partners will be on very different sexual planes of existence, this drop in my interest levels could be considered precipitous.  The playfulness, the kinkiness, the embrace of all things orgasmic, had faded into boring, vanilla, infrequent sessions that were usually just a few short minutes of foreplay followed by a less than impressive coupling before I finished and rolled away for cleanup.  Mind you, I felt completely satisfied by these sessions, but I knew we were missing our … something.

In the middle of August, we moved out of the rundown (and, as we’ve since discovered, ridiculously moldy and likely illness inducing) house apartment in the Tampa Bay area and moved to a brand new apartment in Orlando.  At the end of August, I was hospitalized.

My first trip to the hospital resulted in being informed that my appendix had ruptured.  Due to some unknown reason that nobody has been able to adequately explain, instead of the toxins from my inflamed appendix rushing into my abdominal cavity to induce sepsis and try to kill me immediately, a muscle/tissue barrier formed around the rupture and contained it all within an abscess.  At best guess I lived with this abscess for at least a week — indicating the inflammation of the appendix preceded the rupture substantially — and the course of treatment upon which the doctors decided was to drain the abscess while leaving the appendix in place.  The drain (which requires an external drain line, so now I’m bionic) was coupled with antibiotics and I stayed in the hospital for one week.  The plan was to be evaluated one to two weeks post discharge, at which point the drain line could be removed and the appendectomy, if still necessary, could be scheduled for mid to late October.

13 days after being discharged I found myself back in the hospital, suffering from overwhelmingly high amounts of discharge and cramps around the drain site.  These were not ordinary cramps, like some poor athlete would suffer that are painful but manageable.  These were severe enough to drop me to my knees and leave me gasping for breath.  If men could give birth, I now know how it would feel.  The diagnosis from the second stay was that the first round of antibiotics got most things, but not everything, and that the abscess was still large — large enough to block the view of the appendix on the CT scan — so that now other strains of antibiotics were needed to further stave off the infection and reduce the inflammation.  Toward that end, I was sent home after 5 days with a midline IV (inserted into my right bicep major vein) to continue outpatient IV infusion of one antibiotic while also taking 2 other strains via pills.

For those keeping score at home, that’s 5 different prescriptions of antibiotics in 17 days.  I don’t kid around when it comes to falling ill.

One unforeseen benefit from this entire ordeal is that my libido has been coming back online.  Even while having various tubes sticking out of me, I’ve pounced Mrs. AP on a few occasions and taken full advantage of the fact that when the kids are at school I can bend her over the kitchen counter and ravage her from behind.  Along with this revamping and increased need for pounding Mrs. AP’s pussy into orgasmic oblivion, my cravings for group sex and visiting various lifestyle establishments has been climbing.  I want another guy or two in our bed.  I want to visit one of the clubs / resorts in our area and play in front of (and with) others.  I want to visit the unofficial nude beach in the area and see what comes of it.

I want to be a slut again.

So sure, I almost died, and I’m nowhere close to sexy with these tubes still sticking out of me, but I have learned that sometimes the loss of libido is not just routine and stress but can be linked to physical health concerns as yet undiagnosed.  So if you’re suddenly tired all the time, can’t work up the gusto to pound your lover into perfect bliss, and just can’t seem to find your sexy rhythm anymore, please go see a doctor and get a full examination.  It just might save your life.

Stay SINful, friends.

8 responses

  1. My year has also been plagued with various unexpected illnesses. And it’s true, after they were finally all treated (at least I hope all for a while), there are lots of body things that have, shall we say, sprung up again. So, I must have really been sick. All that is to say, that your post is important in that we should not always assume that our waxing and waning is “normal”.

    On the more human side, I am sorry you had to go through all that, it sounds pretty torturous and I am glad you are still here to tell the tale. Take it easy as you come back to life.

    October 1, 2014 at 8:46 am

    • I had forgotten how interconnected all our systems really are. I’ll be more vigilant here on out.

      I’m happy you pulled through all your stuff! Recovery, I find, is nearly as exhausting as the initial ordeal.

      Stay SINful,
      Mr. AP

      October 3, 2014 at 11:22 am

  2. I’m so glad you survived the weird illness and seem to have found your mojo in the process. I’ll look forward to reading more of your escapades as they come.

    October 2, 2014 at 7:19 am

    • I look forward to having and recounting them! Thank you!

      Stay SINful,
      Mr. AP

      October 3, 2014 at 11:23 am

  3. I have been missing you . . . but hadn’t wanted to ask. Wish I had now! But so glad to know that you are on the mend.
    Hope to find you in my inbox more often again now too . . . though of course wouldn’t want that to get in the way of your re-surfacing Libido.
    Kisses !!!
    Xxx – K

    October 2, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    • Thank you for the concern. Rest assured, as my libido springs forth renewed I’ll be updating appropriately!

      Stay SINful,
      Mr. AP

      October 3, 2014 at 11:24 am

  4. Pingback: Seek and Ye Shall Find … | AbSINthePassion

  5. Pingback: SINFul Year in Review – Personal | AbSINthePassion

Leave a Reply

