An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

Logistics of the Unknown

We deal with “what ifs” — the hypothetical situations we all must face when uncertain as to what might happen but for which we want to prepare nonetheless — on a regular basis in our daily lives.  Some are minor things, like not knowing what we might want to cook for dinner during the week when grocery shopping, and others are major, such as not knowing where we might land a job after graduating from college/university.  Trying to run logistics for long-term planning when the results are still hidden from us becomes an interesting game that is part conjecture, part divination.  With some clever planning, attention to detail, and some careful navigation one can usually have a solid plan in place.  What happens, though, when the possibilities and variables involved can lead to multiple solution sets that are all equally valid?  If you’re like Mrs. AP and I, you start planning for them all!  Here’s our load ahead:

While my current Day Job continues to roll on, my side job as an IT consultant is ramping up into a very solid set of work next week and likely every week or every other week thereafter for a few months.  Tied into that is a still valid promise from my POCs at the company that I will be picked up full time, pending some back-end hurdles being cleared.  Once this full-time hiring occurs, we are looking at the possibility of one of the following scenarios:

  • Staying in the Tampa / St. Petersburg, FL area and looking for a larger, more appropriate home for us here.
  • Moving to Orlando, FL and finding an appropriate house and school zone there.
  • Moving to New York, NY or the surrounding area, wherein an affordable home of appropriate size will be more difficult to find.
  • Moving to the San Francisco Bay area, where finding an affordable home of appropriate size will also be somewhat difficult to find.
  • Moving to Denver, CO or the surrounding area, where again affordability becomes an issue, further complicated by the fact that Mrs. AP has never lived anywhere that has a daily high temperature drop below 40 degrees for more than 5 days out of the year.
  • Moving to the Dallas / Fort Worth metropolitan area, where house is much more affordable, but also means a return to an area I left in 2002 with a vow never to return.

As dutiful parents and partially OCD geeks, we are beginning the process of examining all the areas to best be prepared for what we may face in terms of housing prices, sizes, good schools for the kids, and entertainment for us.  That last bit becomes rather interesting, since we’re not exactly… vanilla… in our interests.  Oddly enough, staying where we are may provide the best options on that last count.

Who’d have thought?

 

Stay SINful, friends.

12 responses

  1. I lived in San Angelo many, many years ago and vowed never to return to Texas as a result. The heat was unbearable. It wasn’t just the heat, it was the fact that it was like a blow furnace. But then a few years later I moved to San Antonio and fell in love with Texas. I’ve done short time in Dallas, and as long as you pick the right area (depending on what street you live on, you may not be allowed to buy beer) I could live there.

    I’m from Tampa, so I could do that again without hesitation. Orlando? Wow, nice weather but lots of touristy traffic.

    NYC and SF are ruled out on cost alone.

    That leaves Denver. What a beautiful place. I’ve always said that if I needed to change jobs and something opened up in Denver or Colorado Springs, I’d jump at the chance.

    So there’s my input!

    September 19, 2012 at 6:54 am

    • I love the perspective you bring.

      We may not have a choice; much of where we go/stay will depend on my client / future-employers needs regarding my physical location. In theory the majority of the work could be performed remotely, so as long as I’m near a major airport I could have my pick of anywhere in the country. Realistically, they’ll want me near one of their existing field offices or the main office, which constitute the list provided.

      I lived in Dallas for 20 months and Houston for 18 months. I’m not keen to go back if it’s not absolutely necessary.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      September 22, 2012 at 9:05 pm

  2. SirQsmlb

    I love that you plan. I always have pro/con lists going. Congrats on the work – yea you !!
    BTW- it would be significantly colder in NY than CO. Denver is dry and because of altitude – warms pretty well during the day – even in winter.

    September 19, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • We try our best to be prepared.

      I spent a week in Denver during January 2008, and have spent several nights in December and January of various years in NYC. Denver has sub-freezing temperatures during the day and steady winds, whereas NYC was at least above freezing and without too much wind at ground level. I think the “heat island” affect of all that concrete, metal, glass, cars, and people in such a tightly confined space keeps NYC warmer than surrounding areas.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      September 22, 2012 at 9:09 pm

  3. I’m chuckling at the weather concern. As a person who lived 31 years of her life in sunny southern california, it is possible to be ok with moving to places like Rochester, NY and Switzerland. It is a shock, oh yes it is and I had to buy an entirely new wardrobe. Ok, that part was nice.

    September 19, 2012 at 9:02 am

    • I can handle the colder weather; in fact, I rather embrace it. I love the bite of a crisp wind on my cheek provided I can eventually come inside and enjoy a hot drink and a fire. Mrs. AP and 2 of the kids get cold easily, to the point where 70 degree weather brings chills. My concern is that the 20F midday temperatures in Denver in January would incite abject misery. I don’t want to subject them to that if I don’t need to.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      September 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm

  4. If I had the same list I would pick San Fransisco. I have heard it is very accepting of the non vanilla lifestyles.

    September 19, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    • It is, but as I believe I failed to mention in the post, I may not have a choice. Come my hiring they will want me in one of those locations, so we have to prepare for each.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      September 22, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  5. San Fran for the lifestyle; (but the traffic and California! Oy vey!) Denver for the outdoor and family living…

    Hmmmm…

    September 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    • If I get to choose, yes, but then NYC and SF for the alt-lifestyle opportunities and the food! OH, the food!

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      September 22, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  6. Course I would pick Colorado because it’s my heart and soul (course my favorite area is burned) and I have always wanted to move there BUT I keep marrying or dating people that would rather live in Florida where my skin cancer would get worst!!

    September 20, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    • From what I saw of the area during my week in Denver during January 2007, it’s an absolutely gorgeous area, but goodness, that traffic was as bad as when I lived in Houston. I’ve been spoiled in Orlando and Tampa, where rush hour isn’t so bad.

      Yes, Florida is bad bad bad for melanoma and skin cancer. Mrs. AP and I keep high-index sunblock nearby at all times and do our best to only go out at night. We might as well be vampires for how much we’re up during the sunlight hours these days.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      September 22, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

