An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

Your Rules Are Not My Laws

Despite knowing better, I engaged in a comment war on Facebook over the past 10 hours.  The comments have been on a picture posted by a religious group, across which was written “God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve.”  Despite how absolutely ridiculous and trite the phrasing of the statement sounds, the intention from the posting is very clear; God did not make gay people, nor any other kind of people, but instead only made straight people.  This has led to a very exhaustive counter-argument on my part where I have knowingly broken my “don’t feed the trolls” mantra of online forum etiquette.  Nevertheless, as one who identifies as part of the LGBTQ community and is becoming increasingly vocal in my support for the equal treatment of that community I could not in good conscience sit idly by as person after person praised the bigoted nature of this posting.  Below are some of the thoughts I’ve taken away from this defense of my people.  Fair warning:  if you are a deeply devout Christian, I may be attacking parts of your faith.  If this upsets you, move along now.

The entire basis for the argument by Christians against the equal legal treatment of marriage for all people, and against what they call Homosexual behavior  in general, is one verse of the Old Testament book of Leviticus, chapter 20 verse 13, in which it reads “If a man has sexual relations with a man as one does with a woman, both of them have done what is detestable. They are to be put to death; their blood will be on their own heads.”  What is conveniently forgotten are all the other laws from the Old Testament Books of Law (Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, and to some extent Genesis and Exodus) that are just as strict yet are considered antiquated.   Many laws that were punishable by death included adultery, raping an engaged virgin, being raped and not crying out for help, blasphemy, breaking The Sabbath, trying to convert somebody to your religion, perjury, eating anything with blood still in it, being male and not being circumcised, and having sex with a menstruating woman.  None of these other laws are still followed, along with hundred of other rules that were considered sins (all of which could send a man to Hell), yet this one verse becomes the basis of the entire argument over why members of the LGBTQ community should be denied equal rights.

Theologically, Christians shouldn’t even be making this argument anyway, as the source comes from one of the Old Testament Books of Law.  The entire point of the New Testament is that Jesus, who in the Christian mindset is The Christ, Lord and Savior, through the act of being born without sin (courtesy of God’s miracle in the uterus of Mary, who became pregnant while still a virgin and thus broke Jesus from the cycle of Original Sin) and then dying on the cross and being resurrected after spending 3 days in Hell granted automatic forgiveness of sins to anybody who firmly, deeply, and truly believes that yes, he did indeed do that shit.  What happened, based on this whole sinless birth, death, and resurrection thing is that through Jesus God formed a New Covenant with anybody who believes in him — mostly the then Jews, Israelites, and anybody else who followed the Books of Law — such that simple belief was all that was needed to be considered worthy of going to Heaven.  No more annoying hundred something laws to follow religiously.  No more not being able to work 7 days a week.  No more having to worry about whether smoked ham was “clean” to eat or not.  And, no more worrying about whether being able to express love for somebody with the same pretty parts was going to result in being stoned to death.

Furthermore, out of the very words of Jesus himself came the words ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ” (Matthew 22: 37-39)  Love!  Love is the basis around which everything should be based!  How, then, can love between two people be anything BUT following the very command of Jesus himself?  He doesn’t specify “between a man and a woman” or “between a husband and wife” or even “between a parent and child.”  No, the man says Love, like it is a great, wonderful, and powerful thing.

But even love aside, the other argument against homosexuality even being a sin stems from the fact that the Christian Bible is not an infallible work, nor even the direct word of God.  The Christian Bible as it stands today is a collection of books that was officially decided upon during the Council of Jamnia for the Old Testament, and the books of the New Testament were accepted at the Councils of Carthage under the prevailing decisions of the cardinals.  Other books were excluded, but more importantly, the decision of which books to include was decided by men.  Fallible men.  Just as fallible were the men who wrote the books in the first place, which is in evidence in the very beginning, literally.  The first 2 chapters of Genesis chronicle different, conflicting stories of the creation story.  Other contradictions and inconsistencies may be found here.

With the Christian Bible then being inherently fallible and flawed, such as stating that whales are fish and bats are birds (when we now know that both are, in fact, mammals) it stands to reason that the information presented in the various books is based on the knowledge at the time of the writing.  We know now from scientific advancements in brain scanning technology that the reactions to visual stimuli of erotic images are the same for straight women and gay men, and for straight men and lesbian women.  We know that the innate reactions, desires, and attractions are as naturally unchangeable as one’s skin color or eye color.

Why, then, with the combination of the invalidation of The Old Laws within the Christian faith AND the scientific advancement made in understanding the basis of one’s sexual dynamic do these various Right-Wing Christian groups still insist on such hateful, ignorant messages such as “God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve”?  Why do they continue to try to advance their interpretation of their Holy Book into legal, secular law?

I can only draw one conclusion; they’re all ignorant, potentially bigoted, assholes.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

15 responses

  1. Some really interesting posts lately, and I find it difficult to imagine any reasonable person disagreeitng with you. However that’s the problem in a nutshell – if the people you find yourself arguing with could have responded to logic and reason in the 1st instance, these thoughts would not have entered their heads :-/ I don’t waste my time on them anymore.

    August 20, 2012 at 9:06 am

    • I knew better than to get involved, I really did, but once I was wait deep in it I just went for broke. If nothing else it kept me entertained all night, AND I got to practice my written debate skills. I think in any reasonable competition I would have won.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 20, 2012 at 10:00 pm

  2. Preachin’ to the choir, here.
    What also gets me is that they think their religious beliefs should be held by everyone in this country. I wonder how they would feel if a Muslim group tried to pass legislation which stated it is illegal to sell anything other than Halal meat?

    August 20, 2012 at 10:41 am

    • I even used that argument against them! It went right over most heads. So sad…

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 20, 2012 at 10:00 pm

  3. Emen

    You must be exhausted. The racist, facist, ignorant, bigoted trolls are legion, cher. I’m proud you spoke out but put your strength and passion into service of the joy and merriment of people who love like you do. Rest your weary head in my lap. Where’s Mrs AP? Is she busy? I’m sure the three of us could manage a diversion from misery and hate 🙂

    August 20, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    • 🙂 You are too kind! While it SHOULD have been frustrating, it was actually rather invigorating. I’d forgotten how good it can feel to debate from a position of knowledge and strength and repeatedly refute or demolish another’s argument.

      But yes, once I got home I rested well with Mrs. AP for a bit. She brings love and joy into any situation for me, and soothes me like no other. Diversions successful!

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 20, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  4. faerie

    Well said, and I think your conclusion is sound. That is really the sad part, they are ignorant, potentially bigotted, assholes and that prevents them from accepting anything other then their way of thinking.

    August 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • Yes. I know. Sadly enough, most of my blood relatives are in their number. My true family is one of my choosing now, and I am stronger for it.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 20, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  5. I see those posts and others equally disdainful and I unfriend those if not related, or turn off their posts to my feed

    August 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    • This wasn’t even a post by a friend of mine. Mrs. AP and one of our mutual friends had commented, and I broke my own rules by getting into it as well. Nevertheless, I had fun with it and didn’t let myself get angry over the counter-arguments that were based in ignorance and insolence. Years ago I would have worked myself into a frenzy, but not this time. I’m rather proud of myself for that. I think it’s good progress.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 20, 2012 at 10:15 pm

  6. Nope not busy, and his weary head was well rested in my lap for a time 🙂 This one was actually my fault. I also have a “don’t feed the trolls policy” but every once in a great while they just bite my ass a little too hard and I have to bite back.. Beings a cat that just happens some times.. >^..^< I am just do tired of the bigotry and hatred in this country over BASIC human rights issues. I grew up in the LBGQT communities and there for have been exposed to a greater amount of this form of "hate" for a longer period of time then most people in my age group. I think it gives me a slightly shorter fuse with it some times..

    I say something quite often to people and that is " If everyone and I do mean EVERYONE stood up for what they believe is right and wrong and voiced their true honest opinion, Made an effort to help others and stand up for each other..People with negative, Nasty agendas in this country would have a force that they would have to reckon with" You may have one voice and yes it may be small.. but when there are millions of little voices together they are no longer small!

    I boycot Chick-fil-a I do so based on their business practices and who the donate money too. I will not help them fund Hate groups any more then I would give directly to those same groups. I get a LOT of flack from people for this, they tell me that I am dumb and that its good food ect.. I tell then that YES its very yummy and I MISS it a lot.. But to me its not worth selling a part of me and the people I love just for some chicken…I MAY be one person.. but me not buying their food forces them to loose money..Yes it may be about $360+ a year ( accounting for taking the family there with us at least once a month $30+ a pop) But you know what?? IF 1,000,000 people (families) JUST LIKE ME did the same thing nation wide they would loose $360 MILLION dollars!!!!!! Do you really think that a corporation could keep acting as they are with repercussions like that? They made $4.1 billion last year in sales! Yeah it might just be a pitch to that kind of sales figures.. but it would still hurt..

    Statistically speaking there is estimated to be upwards of about 4 MILLION gay humans in the United States today.. I would venture to guess that there is at LEAST triple that for people who are not gay but that might be trans, Bi, Pan or OTHER.. IF 16 MILLION ++++ people spoke up and said NO.. would this Nation not have to stop and listen?

    August 20, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    • Gods you’re hot when you’re passionate! I love you so much! Let’s keep kicking ass and making a difference together, forever and always!

      August 20, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  7. OMG, that exchange was so very sweet.

    I’m behind you 100% Energy-wise, keep in mind it’s better to frame your fight FOR something rather than AGAINST. Focusing on what you want, not what you don’t want, if you know what i mean…

    August 21, 2012 at 1:18 am

    • Thank you so much Renee!

      Yes, I understand exactly what you mean. I am fighting for equality, for happiness, and for acceptance. I am fighting for the right to be able to stand out in public and say “Here, I am a human being, no different from any other human being, with the same rights and privileges, and you cannot take them away nor fire me because of who I love or how I express that love!” I am fighting for a world where my children can be open and expressive and not have to fear backlash and torment from those who do not understand. I am fighting for freedom, beauty, truth, and love. I’m pretty darn certain Mrs. AP will join me. She’s awesome like that. ^_^

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 21, 2012 at 4:23 am

  8. Pingback: Family Is What We Make It « AbSINthePassion

Leave a Reply

