An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

The “Somebody Thinks I’m Awesome and Beautiful” Award

The ever lovely Conina over at Exploring Surrender (seriously, check her out, she’s fantastic) has included  my cozy corner of the internet in her list of those blogs worthy a combination award.   What began as

The META Awesomest Blog Unicorn Award 

grew to also include

The Beautiful Blogger Award 

which I believe combines into The META Awesomest Beautiful Unicorn Blogger Award.  Or Captain Planet.  I’m still uncertain as to which.  Either way, the combined powers are, indeed, the awesomest, but as with any awesome power comes certain responsibilities.  The Terms and Conditions to graciously accepting these awards — seriously, I’m still new here people, I’m not certain I deserve these yet — is to follow the rules accompanying the awards and then post said rules for all to see, thus ensuring aforementioned rules are properly followed.

Following me so far?  Goodness, that’s a lot of following, and assumedly followers.  Wait, I want followers!  Follow along!

So the rules for the Beautiful Blogger award are as follows:

1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
2. Answer 10 questions (ed: I assume this means trivia items) you have about yourself
3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number. (ed: I’ll pick the number)
4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.
5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.

Regarding Rule 1 : The logos are now sitting in this post, which I believe half-counts.  I shall have to incorporate both logos either into the sidebar (not a bad idea) or take a page from Scot Thomas of The Dom Next Door and create a Trophy Shelf Page in which all such awards and the requisite acceptance posts can be stored.

To complete Rule 2 I give you… a list! (Mr. No Name, you may begin rejoicing.)
  1. I grew up violently lactose intolerant.  Liquid milk would purge my system faster than Drano clears a clog.  As a result of this, I grew up eating dry cereal, and to this day only use milk as a cooking and baking agent.  When I was living single a quart of milk could, and often did, expire in my fridge.
  2. I cannot detect any hint of flavor in beer.  I have tried nearly 3 dozen brands from over 1 dozen countries, and they all taste to me as if somebody neglected to add the flavor syrup to the soda fountain.  However, I will use a dark stout German beer such as Warsteiner as the base for  a reduction when cooking sausage or bratwurst to get a rich caramel coating on the meat.
  3. My father came home with an Intellivision in 1984 while we were living in Japan (courtesy of the U.S. Air Force) and from that point I have been hooked on video games.  I have owned every console system both Nintendo and Sony have ever released in the United States and see no end to that trend in sight.  Microsoft, however, only exists in my home on computers, in the form of operating systems and office productivity software.
  4. I have no distinct regional accent, yet can mimic most any accent I hear.  This comes in quite handy when traveling.
  5. I played soccer (football, for my friends outside the U.S.) for all 12 years of grade school.  In all that time, because of always being a defenseman or goalkeeper, I scored only 2 goals, the second of which I scored in my final game as a High School Senior.
  6. My eyes change color depending on my mood.  Most times they flow through hazel and brown, but will turn vibrant green if I am excessively angry.  To my knowledge this has happened only 3 times.  Mrs. AP, however, triggered a new color for me; around her my eyes turn gold.
  7. My shoe size width an abominable 4E.  D(M) is the standard width, E or 2E is considered wide.  Some Extra-Wide shoes are still too narrow for me.  This makes finding a shoe that fits difficult, and one that looks good while fitting properly highly unlikely and simultaneously quite expensive.  I have not spent fewer than $100 on a pair of new shoes in over 10 years.
  8. I grew up watching science fiction TV series and films yet had not seen Doctor Who before Mrs. AP sat me down with it last year.  I still have not seen Babylon 5 nor either version of V or Battlestar Galactica.  I believe this requires I relinquish my Geek Card.
  9. I read 2 college textbooks on Human Sexuality in one week while staying with friends of my mother.  I was 11.
  10. I hope to someday move to Europe, preferably either Germany or The Czech Republic.  However, considering the immigration requirements for EU Member States, it appears I will need to be independently wealthy first, so I consider this a 5 to 10 year goal.

Right, that wasn’t too terrible.  On to Rules 3 and 4!

I went through and opened all the blogs I read daily.  Cannot miss them, love them, must check on them.  Turns out 13 is my lucky number.  Not all of these have been updated as frequently as I’d like, but they’re all excellent.  In alphabetical order (I can’t play favorites, I just can’t):
  • A tale of Bi and Bi – What’s not to love about a blog about a couple who are both Bi and love exploring every facet of their sexuality together?  Really, they’re just incredible.
  • Erotic.  Wet.  Atomic. – This was the first real BDSM heavy blog I started reading, and the information held within has been immeasurably helpful for me.  Jaine ‘indey’ is superb is addressing aspects of scenes most people miss, and I love her for it.
  • Exploring surrender – Conina, right back at your dear.  Her writing is deeply personal, delightfully arousing, and incredibly insightful.  Also, she makes some very gorgeous looking floggers, if you’re into that sort of thing.
  • faerie learns to fly – faerie likes her husband, Music Man, to spank her.  Hard.  And then she writes about the delicious ways she feels about it.  Very few blogs have the combined sense of honesty and humor that this one conveys.
  • Kinky Desoto – Kinky likes to post about the delicious things she does, sometimes with her husband, sometimes without.  She’s amusing, witty, and decisively naughty.   It’s brilliant.
  • Marriage in the Bedroom – Ponyboy has a wife, kids, an active sex life, and an amusing viewpoint in all his stories.  Maybe it’s because he’s Canadian, or maybe it’s because he chose a screen name that makes he think he wants to be bridled and ridden.  Whatever the reason, he’s one of the best reads of my day.
  • My Dissolute Life – No blog out there hits me with the raw and brutal intensity as N. Likes writings do.  The man pours his heart and soul into every post and lets us poke at all the cracks and crevices.  He’s amazing.
  • Our Open Marriage Adventures – Josh and BB run the first blog I read start to finish before I started my own, and inspired me to begin detailing my own adventures with Mrs. AP.  I wouldn’t be here if not for them.  I can’t wait until their posting frequency picks up again.
  • Rantings of a Delusional Borderline Swinger – FreakyV always has something fun to say, and rumor has it she’s not so borderline about the Swinger bit anymore.
  • Shelby Cross, Writer – Shelby is brilliant, clever, insightful, and delightful.  Whether serving advice, erotica, or amusing anecdotes she grabs my attention by the throat and doesn’t let go until she’s had her way with me.  I rather like it.
  • Spiritual BDSM – Michael and Serafina Samadhi run this place together, and the contrasting styles interweave into a beautiful place to find insights, wisdom, and sexuality all connected.  There is no blog quite like it that I have found.
  • The Dom Next Door – Scot Thomas can write!  No, seriously, the man has a style and talent that is absolute genius.  He makes every word personal, every description vivid, and the scenarios he paints are alive in a way few ever reach.
  • theblackleatherbelt – Lily Lloyd is perhaps the funniest writer on this list.   I laugh more at her postings than any other, especially in her recaps of the Showtime docu-drama-series “Polyamory: Married and Dating.”  She is a gift, and one well loved.
  • What’s In A Name – Mr. No Name provides one of the biggest highlights of my day.  He’s also Canadian, but I forgive him for that because he lives in Miami and understands how to be both American and Canadian without sacrificing the good parts of either.  He’s also a gifted writer with a talent for blending humor and insight into some of the best writing on the web.  I adore him.

Rule 5 I’ve covered twice, but to keep in spirit with those who came before me, I’m going to remark on the most memorable post from my nominator.  Of all the posts that Conina has written, what hit me hardest was her two part post A Night To Remember: The Spanking and A Night To Remember: The Sex.  The deep, vivid detail with which she recalls and explores her day coupled with the complete emotional confession of submission and powerlessness delivers some of the most impactful writing I’ve found.  I got the sense while reading that she was caught up in a maelstrom of her husbands needs and desires and that the best she could do was hold on for the ride and enjoy every painful, delicious, blissful moment of it.  Never have I read a piece of submission so powerful, nor identified with the Dominant in the story so much.  I recognized in her husband what lurks in me and have had an easier time releasing that since.  Thank you, Conina.  You are a gifted inspiration.

Stay SINful, friends
23 responses

  1. Thanks so much, appreciate the kind words.

    I will try and get a response out to this in the next day or two.

    August 7, 2012 at 10:48 am

  2. Yea for lists and a sincere thanks for the nod of appreciation. I am glad I can play a role in making your day brighter. You are an honest and passionate fellow who deserves a brights spot or two in every day.

    Now on to the bad. I will not be completing the requirements. For some reason, I cannot make myself get behind the memes (TMI Tuesday, sinful Sunday, blogger awards, etc). It is truly an honor to be nominated, and I love the warm fuzzy feeling it gives me, but I just can’t seem to work up a genuine desire to participate. Maybe I am afraid of the commitment! Yeah, that would be in line with my personality!

    TTFN
    Mr. No Name

    August 7, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    • That’s fine. I love you anyway, you goof. Now get back to enjoying your vacation. :-p

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 7, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      • Thanks for your understanding. I definitely mean no offense. I think I am forced I to conformity at work and refuse to be bottled in here. Or I am just a lazy SOB.

        August 7, 2012 at 11:41 pm

      • None taken. You made my list because you already kick ass. Keep doing what you do.

        Stay SINful
        Mr. AP

        August 7, 2012 at 11:55 pm

  3. faerie

    Thank you so much for the lovely honor. I’m so flattered that I’m on your must read list. I always love the great comments you leave me. You make me smile 🙂 You have listed quite a few I’m not familiar with and will have to check out.

    I’ll have to think about doing a post. That little unicorn banner might be too much for me to resist, lol. But accepting the terms of things like this makes me anxious, way more anxious than it should. It’s not the telling things about myself, I could do that all day, lol. It’s the part about picking my friends, cause that’s how I feel about the blogs I read. It’s like visiting with friends. Either way though, thank you, I’m honored.

    August 7, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    • You just did one such post recently, so that should count! :-p

      You deserve all the accolades that come your way.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 7, 2012 at 7:05 pm

  4. Awesome list – I will definitely have to check some of those out when I have a spare moment.

    Do you drink almond milk? We really, really like it – and you could have cereal again, or milk with your cookies…. 🙂

    Watch the new BSG. Go, run along, we’ll wait. We just saw it this past year and it was really fantastic. Just after we finished it I was fortunate enough to be able to visit the BSG exhibition at the Experience Music Project in Seattle – SO COOL.

    Thank you for the amazing compliments, as well.

    August 7, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    • I’ve not tried almond milk. I’ve had a sip or two of whole milk, as well as a sip or two of Silk Very Vanilla. I was expecting something with a creamier texture and taste, and was disappointed. It seemed watered down to me, and I’ve got water for that. It’s not that I don’t eat cereal. I do. I just eat it dry and crunchy. No worrying about the bowl getting soggy for me! (Really, why eat soggy cereal? Just have oatmeal at that point.)

      I’ll get around to the new BSG sometime soon, I’m sure. We’re working our way through Farscape on Netflix right now. Though, funny thing my old roommates spotted in the new BSG; during one scene there’s a bunch of ships flying over a cityscape, and one of the ships is the Firefly-Class ship Serenity, from Joss Whedon’s Firefly. We were all quite amused.

      You’re most welcome! You deserve them!

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 7, 2012 at 7:12 pm

      • I find Silk Pure Almond quite creamy and awesome, though ymmv. Our boy loves the stuff too.

        Yeah, all the folks over at whedonesque pointed Serenity out at the time too, I seem to recall. Awesome shout-out. (did you see my post about how Buffy shaped my sexuality?) Love Whedon. ♥

        OH YES DEFINITELY watch Farscape first. Oh, hell, such good stuff. Excited on your behalf. I shall stop filling up your comment area now.

        August 7, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      • I have resolved myself to not being a milk drinker. That’s okay, though. I can still get my dairy kick from yogurt and cheese.

        The amusing thing for me is that I watched the later seasons of Stargate as they aired (mostly, I missed episodes here and there) so I keep waiting for Teal’c, Samantha Carter, and Daniel Jackson to show up on Farscape to lend a hand.

        Stay SINful
        Mr. AP

        August 7, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  5. OMG I so loved my Intellivision!!! WE had Pong first (I still own it) and Intellivision next. Sea Battle was my favorite game and my dad and I played it all the time. He was always bitching at me not to forget and turn it off or it would burn up. Well guess who left the game console on and burned it all up?? My father!!! Grrrrrrrrrrrrr I bought Sea Battle for some other game system but couldn’t figure out how to use it!

    As for Milk since I am trying to go Vegan I drink Amond and Coconut Milk.

    August 7, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    • I played a whole lot of Tennis on mine. It was the best thing ever, right up until our cat chewed through the cord for one of the controllers. Lucky for me, The Age of Nintendo followed shortly thereafter.

      I can’t do Vegan. I need my occasional red meat intake, and I love salmon and shrimp too much to relinquish them.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 7, 2012 at 11:54 pm

      • freakyv

        I love scallops, shrimp, crab and fish. I will probably never completely give them up

        August 8, 2012 at 12:41 am

      • But (correct me if I’m wrong) isn’t the difference between Vegan and Vegetarian this: Vegan eschews all animal and animal products or by-products as food, whereas Vegetarian allows for seafood and dairy products? Or do I have those reversed?

        Stay SINful
        Mr. AP

        August 8, 2012 at 1:05 am

      • freakyv

        and you liked Tennis?? Ugh, I don’t think I ever even played that!

        August 8, 2012 at 12:42 am

      • Hey, I was 3 when we got the thing, 6 when it died. My options were Tennis, Baseball, and Space Invaders. Tennis was the only one I was any good playing. :-p

        Stay SINful
        Mr. AP

        August 8, 2012 at 1:06 am

  6. I love you for loving the blogs I love. (Oh, and H’s eyes change color too – blue is pain or intense feeling; green is the rest – too much blue this year. Sigh.)

    August 8, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • Seems word of the good ones gets around! ^_^ Thank you for supporting the same people.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 8, 2012 at 1:00 am

  7. Doubly nominated! Here you go with another one:
    http://www.reneeroseromance.com/2012/08/all-about-unicorns.html

    August 8, 2012 at 1:32 am

  8. Pingback: September State of the Blog Address « AbSINthePassion

Leave a Reply

