An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

Democrats Grow A Pair!

I don’t often talk politics in this space, but the announcement that hit the wire yesterday was too big for me to ignore.  As sources told Politico, a drafting session by members of the party responsible for drafting the official party platform have included language in support of Equal Marriage Rights.  Openly gay, married, retiring Congressman Barney Frank of Massachusetts reportedly said the vote was unanimous.  This is a tremendously big deal for me, and not only because I identify as a member of the LGBTQ community, but also because I grew up in the Southeastern United States and have seen the lingering effects of willful discrimination all my life.

As I’ve detailed in other posts, I grew up mostly in Central Alabama and Eastern/Central Florida.  Although a day’s drive apart, the two environments are like living in different worlds.  Alabama, specifically the Montgomery area, has never recovered from the animosity that erupted following the bus strikes precipitated by Rosa Parks being too tired to move from her seat.  Very large segments of the city remain segregated, not by any official government enforcement, but by socio-economic forces beyond the control of anybody holding public office.  Communities that were forced to isolate decades ago remain steadfast areas of bonded communities; neighbors grow up in the same houses in which their parents grew up, going back generations.  Upwards and sideways mobility are both limited in that city.   Were it not for the military base and separate support station, there would be little to no economic growth in that area at all.

The result of large swaths of racially concentrated communities is that hatred, persecution, and bigotry is still very much alive.  I grew up with people who had been raised to believe that anybody who’s melanin concentration was high must be inferior and thus should welcome active persecution.  I knew it wasn’t right or proper then, and I’ve known that the exact same treatment being delivered to non-heteronormative people over the past forever has also been neither right nor proper.

The Democratic Party is taking steps to ensure that the same disapproval given to racial segregation and mistreatment will finally be afforded to non-heteronormative people.  While the United States is far behind our neighbour to the north, Canada, as remains even further from European countries such as Holland, where in 2005 one man entered into a civil union with two women simultaneously.  Nevertheless, this is a step in the right direction, and it gives me hope.

Incidentally, this is somewhat related to my planned post for yesterday that was eventually scrapped.  The only thing I have to say regarding that is, while I still plan on boycotting, at least I can make the sandwich at home if I so choose.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

12 responses

  1. kinkydesoto

    That is big and great news! I’m a Southerner, too, and can identify with much of your post. Often, it seems like we take one step forward, then two steps back. I hope this leads to meaningful reform and change.

    July 31, 2012 at 6:25 am

    • Ohhhh so do I. I failed to mention in the post, but the Democrat Party is also adding language encouraging the repeal of the Defense of Marriage Act, and will no longer make any attempt to enforce it. It’s about time we stated moving forward on that.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      July 31, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      • kinkydesoto

        Yes, it is.

        July 31, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  2. sexpertskitten

    Sorry to hear you encountered bigotry. I’m from the Midwest and most people aren’t overtly racist.

    July 31, 2012 at 11:06 am

    • It was so prevalent in Montgomery that some of my high school classmates recorded the Mayor saying at a public council meeting “We need to do something about that damn [insert racial slur here] on the south side of town!” It was brutal at times. Being in the LGBTQ community AND the Poly community AND the BDSM community has me seeing it all over again, but now I have a voice and the means to fight it.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      July 31, 2012 at 8:21 pm

  3. Do you know what they call ‘gay marriage’ is Cabada?

    Marriage!

    July 31, 2012 at 11:12 am

    • Damn auto correct ruined a great joke it should say Canada not Cabada!

      July 31, 2012 at 11:13 am

      • That’s what you get for using iDumb products! :-p

        I got your joke even with the typo-correct, and yes, between your better treatment of your citizens and Hockey Night in Canada, I’ve eyed it on more than one occasion. I don’t think Mrs. AP can handle the winters, though; she’s a born and raised Floridian.

        Stay SINul
        Mr. AP

        July 31, 2012 at 8:23 pm

  4. Easiest boycott ever (we’re vegan). Except it doesn’t count if we never bought stuff from there in the first place, unfortunately.

    I like hope. Hope is good. Thank you for sharing.

    July 31, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    • Good on you if you can do it! I love my chicken and seafood too much, and sometimes, I just need a meatloaf. But I TRY to balance that with a great deal of fruit, veggies, yogurt, and beans/legumes.

      Hope is good, and I’m finding more of it everyday.

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      July 31, 2012 at 8:25 pm

  5. There’s this federal judge (and blogger!) named Richard Posner. He wrote a book called “Sex and Reason,” which is about the intersection of sex, culture, and the law.

    So basically it’s lawyers, and sex, and lawyers talking about sex. OMG CATNIP GET IN MY BRAIN NOWWWWWWW.

    Anyway, he talks about the fact that the gay population in a large city known for gay-friendliness will increase even when the total population of that city declines.

    I grew up in Massachusetts and I still live here, and it’s kind of like living in a little part of Europe that wandered off from the tour. But practically everybody I know who’s LGBTQ has moved far, far away from where they grew up. It’s the great Gay Migration.

    August 2, 2012 at 12:07 am

    • I must look for this blog, yes! So many possibilities of things to read and absorb and I NEED MORE INPUT! Ahem.

      I am not at all surprised that many leave the communities in which they were raised to go to a more LGBTQ-friendly environment. There’s still the off-chance an upcoming job I am promised will require a move to New York City. As daunting a task as that represents for moving a family of 5, I’m not at all against the idea. It’s a much better, vibrant community for both Mrs. AP and I in nearly every aspect. Tampa still has the better Goth and BDSM community, though. Why else would Fetish Con be held here every year? ^_^

      Stay SINful
      Mr. AP

      August 5, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Leave a Reply

