An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

30 Days of Truth, Day 29 : Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.

This is the next to last update in the 30 Days of Truth series!  It’s been tough at times but we’re almost done!

 

Day 29

Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.

 

I feel like I’ve said this before, but the thing I dislike about me the most and want to change the most is how seldom I take the initiative in expressing my opinion and taking charge when I’m not involved in a work situation.  There’s this weird dichotomy to me where I seem to have no problem stepping and leading a team when it comes to anything work related, but once I get home I run everything by council and stop making unilateral decisions.  I’m sure it’s related to  my natural diplomacy and my deep desire to make sure the people I love are happy, but it often backfires and stalls things that could otherwise benefit from a swift decision, like what to eat for dinner.

I’m working on it, though.  Sometimes it just takes a mental reminder that being a leader at home is a good way to be a good partner as well, and that in doing so I help take stress away from Mrs. AbsinthePassion.  Part of my reluctance has come from the messages that leadership training instilled in me, in which one person is in charge (i.e. me) and everybody else has to be encouraged to step to.  With Mrs. AP my approach gravitates toward co-leadership, in which she and I are two heads of the same Leader/Parent.  The occasional problem with this approach is that sometimes Mrs. AP just needs me to stop deliberating; she needs me to decide and act, to pick up where she left off without her putting in extra work to guide me.

Picking up where the other left off and leading when the other needs a break sounds like good teamwork to me.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

Leave a Reply

