An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

30 Days of Truth, Day 22 : Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

Another Monday, another entry in the 30 Days of Truth series.  On with the show!

 

Day 22

Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

 

We all do something stupid sometimes that leaves a mark for years to come.  It sticks with us, and sometimes even sticks with our friends.  5, 10, 15 years later people are still referring to “that thing that time”, whatever it may be.  For me, that moment came during Labor Day weekend, 1997.

As I’ve mentioned previously, I wasn’t the most popular kid during my school years.  My Junior Year my parents decided to go out of town for Labor Day weekend and in my brilliantly dysfunctional teenage mind decided that to boost my popularity I should hold a party.  I wouldn’t make it TOO big, I thought, and I wouldn’t provide anything other than soda or water and some basic snacks, but hey, there would be people!  I would show people I’m not lame and boring!  I would be “Cool”.

I thought I had everything worked out with my 2 closest friends at the time for them to both spend the night; 1 of them was leaving for a boarding Magnet High School the next day, and he told me his parents had cleared him for one last night out before leaving.  Turns out he didn’t understand exactly what they meant by “a night out”, and 3-4 hours into the party, they called to let me know they were on the way to pick him up.  That left me 30 minutes to try to clean and sober him up.

How does somebody who’s had 13 shots AND a 32 ounce Screwdriver “sober up” in 30 minutes, you ask?  He doesn’t.  He goes home sick and plastered, a full dozen sheets to the wind, and his not-so-stupid parents who are also doctors know immediately what’s happened.

I was out of my league with what has become known since among friends and family as My Stupid Party.  I didn’t drink, but my friends did enough to end up with one having to be tied up and sat on to keep him from thrashing around and hurting somebody.  A dancer who was there with her boyfriend and med student friend hadn’t had anything to eat that day before drinking enough to make a Russian Wrestler collapse, and she got alcohol poisoning from her shots and Screwdrivers…  all over the cream and blue colored hand-woven rug that my father had picked up in Morocco.

My friend who’s parents picked him up?  He’d thrown up on himself while passed out on the stairs, and was thrown in the shower while his clothes were hand washed and run through a quick (but not long enough) run in the dryer.

In the middle of all of this, my younger brother came back from a friend’s house and walked into a house with a drunken yelling idiot tied up on the couch, a sick drunken idiot passed out on the couch, and a girl in the guest room convulsing and expelling everything in her system.

It was the one and only party I threw with my parents out of town.  They got a phone call the next day from my friend’s parents informing them of the state of their son and my house.  My parents took my driver’s license and the car keys from me for 3 months.  I was scared off drinking until my mid-20’s.

It’s probably not the most singularly stupid thing I ever did, but it’s stuck with me the longest so far.  Hopefully I can teach my own children well enough that they never have their own versions of My Stupid Party.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

Leave a Reply

