An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

30 Days of Truth, Day 17 : A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

Alright, so home stuff and lingering allergy issues knocked me out of commission here for awhile.  I’m trying to get back into it, and as such, here’s another entry in the 30 Days of Truth series!

 

Day 17

A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

 

I’ve been an avid reader for as long as I can remember.  I used to get in trouble in Elementary School for reading under the covers with a flashlight at night; more than once I fell asleep with the book still open.  I was chastised by my 3rd grade teacher for having read every story in the English book AND having completed all the work in the workbook by Thanksgiving.  Keeping a book out of my hands once I’m sucked into the story is nigh impossible.  I’ve had many a sleepless night just because I couldn’t put a book down.  The problem with this is picking just one book that’s changed my views on something.

Many of the books and series have changed my views in ways big and small.  The Ender Series by Orson Scott Card helped me realize that everybody is worthy of respect and understanding.  The Dune series by Frank Herbert helped me understand that organized religion can be manufactured and used for population control in ways the Roman Catholic Church probably had wet dreams about during The Dark Ages.  The Chronicles of Narnia helped me understand that some fancies belong to the children, and adults just need to leave them to it.  What’s been most influential over the past decade, however, is the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton.

Anita Blake begins the series as a staunch Catholic, but she’s got the fun added ability of being a necromancer.  Her day job is simple; she raises the recently dead so the family or legal representatives can tie up loose ends and move on with their lives.  Her night job is hunting rogue vampires, who are out in the open and recognized as legal persons.  In the beginning she’s very much The Good Girl in every other way.  Kissing is personal, dating is one-on-one, and sex doesn’t happen until at least the engagement.  As the series progresses, however, Anita starts embracing the more sensual and loving aspects of her personality.  She struggled at first, but slowly came to realize that it’s okay to have more than one boyfriend, just so long as all the boyfriends know about each other (or in some cases, sometimes date each other as well).

Had it not been for Anita Blake, I would have a harder time accepting and internalizing my Polyamorous nature.  I see in her character development some of the same inner struggles I faced in realizing that loving more than one person isn’t intrinsically bad.  As she opens and grows and accepts herself and her lovers, so too do I open and grow and better understand myself.  She’s not an exact mirror, mind you — I’m not routinely armed with 3 or more firearms and silver-infused blades on my back and strapped to my wrists — but she’s a good model.

Laurell K. Hamilton provided me some examples of how to be Poly, how to be Kinky, and yet still be just a “normal guy”.  She’s helped me grow, and given me some damn good stories to read in the process.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

Leave a Reply

