An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

30 Days of Truth, Day 16 : Someone or something you definitely could live without.

Just a tick over halfway through the 30 Days of Truth series.  On with today’s show, yes?

 

Day 16

Someone or something you definitely could live without.

 

As I sit and try to think of things I have that I could easily live without, or things with which I already do without, I realize that I could make a list several pages long.  I could cop out and just make a long fancy list and be done with it, but somehow that just doesn’t seem the right approach to me.    The character of the question as I perceive it is to mention something that I have active in my life but that I could give up, maybe even with some sacrifice, and still get by.  This approach is more difficult, mind you, but it also forces more introspection, which I think is the point of this whole exercise.

As much of a technophile as I am, and as much as I love my video game consoles and computers and smartphones, if I had to pick something in my life to choose to live without, it would be video games.  Mind you, I have been playing since my dad brought home an Intellivision in the early 1980’s.  I have owned every Nintendo console, every Sony console, and a decent amount of Sega consoles to boot.  I have spent thousands of dollars in the past decade alone on video games.  I love the escape, I love the competition, and in many of the role-playing games like those in the Final Fantasy or Chrono series, I love the rich storytelling.

If pressed, though — if asked to give up something meaningful and personal — video games would be the thing to lose.  Not that I think my children would allow me to do such thing.  In this era of Angry Birds and Farmville and Words With Friends, gaming has become ubiquitous within the technology focused culture.  Families don’t even need cable anymore; every current generation console system can stream Netflix Instant, and Sony and Microsoft also include access to Hulu Plus and Amazon Movies.  Between those 3 services nearly everything on TV is available without cable, all thanks to video game systems.

Nevertheless, if need be, I could give it all up.  Somehow, I don’t think my life would be any worse for it.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

Leave a Reply

