An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

30 Days of Truth, Day 13 : A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

I have been away a few days from my 30 Days of Truth series updates.  I’ve had a whirlwind of things at home in the real world with which I’ve been dealing, including a minor illness the past 3 days.  I do apologize and will do my best to make it up.  Better late than never, as they day, so let’s get on with it, shall we?

Day 13

A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

Dear Brent Smith, Brad Stewart, Jason Todd, Barry Kerch, Nick Perry, Zach Myers, and Eric Bass (aka Shinedown, past and present members),

 

For several years I was in an unhealthy relationship.  My wife didn’t want me, I had few to no good friends, and I slowly slipped into a debilitating depression.  As I approached and then passed the point where suicide was a daily consideration, I found myself listening to your music more.  I completely identified with your song “45”, and though I had no barrel down which I could stare, I knew the feeling.  I couldn’t accept the way things had changed.  I knew, down inside, that hope was lost, but internalizing, understanding, and accepting that reality was beyond me.

Your song “Second Chance” and your cover of “Simple Man” helped me with that acceptance.  I began to understand that things could change, that I had to take care of myself to be able to better care for others.  I began to see that being a man who loved and acted out of love for myself and others without greed or undue sacrifice could find a second chance within himself.  At the same time this acceptance was coalescing within my brain a lovely, loving, nurturing woman reached out to me to offer assistance.  She spoke of love having to form from within and of tending to my own safety and well-being in ways that reflected the themes of your music, and with her help I resolved to better my situation.

The night I left my unhealthy relationship I had your album The Sound of Madness playing in my car.  Your music became the soundtrack for my drive to freedom; freedom from oppression, freedom from neglect, and freedom from abuse.  I fed on your message, and used it to drive myself to a better life.

Thank you for your strength.  Thank you for having the courage to put to words and music themes of hope and encouragement.  Thank you for expressing your positive message.  Your music helped me overcome the darkest period in my life.  Goodbye was my second chance, and it’s the best use of the phrase I’ve ever made.

Thank you.

 

—–

 

Stay SINful, friends.

Leave a Reply

