An Absinthe-Loving, Polyamorous, Kinky, Sex-Positive Couple talk about all things Sex, Kink, and LGBTQ.

30 Days of Truth, Day 02 : Something you love about yourself.

Today we continue the 30 Days of Truth series.

 

Day 2

Something you love about yourself.

Some people say it’s easier to write about things you hate than things you love.  This used to be very true for me.  I was a negative person, often deeply depressed, and anybody who’s ever had to deal with depression knows that finding anything beautiful or lovely or loving can be a very difficult thing.  I have made a conscious effort the past year to change my mindset on things, and to fill my life with positive people and positive attitudes.  The change has been palpable for me; I feel better, I act nicer, and I treat everybody around me better.  That positivity attracts more posivitity.  As such, there’s all kinds of things I love about me right now.

I love that I am growing as a person.  I love that I am embracing who I am without shame or guilt.  I love that I am actively seeking to fill my life with positive people and positive situations.  But what I love about myself most of all if my resiliency.

I have been through a great deal in my life.   I have faced obstacles and difficulties since childhood, and have continued to face similar hardships into adulthood.  I have become estranged from friends and family, lost a wife, lost a house, lost a car, even lost access to my biological children through legal wranglings and hyper-conservative judges and my inability to afford quality counsel.  I have broken down into weeping fits for hours on end, stood at the edges of roofs and wondered how hard the ground below might be.  And I am still here.

I am here to live a life full of love and joy and positive energy.  I am here to embrace all the joys and pleasures that Mrs. AbsinthePassion and I can find.  I am here to build my life with her, to embrace her children as my own, and to make a good life with her and our family.  I am here to love, and be loved by, those who enter my circle and find warmth and love and kindness there.

I love that I can overcome pain and despair and depression to find love on the other side.  I love that I was strong enough, even when feeling abject weakness and defeat, to find a way to struggle through and come out the other side.  I love that I withstood the assault.

I love that I am here to be me.

 

Stay SINful, friends.

One response

  1. Be the best me you can be. No one should ask for more.

    TTFN
    Mr. No Name

    April 16, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

